Information on the role of local associations, along with key contacts for the West Midlands region.

Local associations

Local associations are active in a range of issues, including:

  • Liaising locally with businesses, the media and the public to promote the profession.
  • Providing a focus for local surveyors.
  • Encouraging members to come together to discuss general business, market and economic issues.
  • Providing 'generic' and cross-faculty CPD of interest to all members.
  • Assisting with government/public policy issues from a local perspective.
  • Contributing local news to regional/local member communications, i.e. for newsletters/websites.
  • Liaising with schools and young people on careers promotion.
  • Organising social events.
Name and region Contact details
Ian Frankton MRICS
Coventry & Warwickshire
e ianfrankton@franktonhill.co.uk
Vacant
Marches
e gbrooks@rics.org
Sean McLaughlon MRICS
North Staffordshire
e gbrooks@rics.org

RICS Matrics

RICS matrics is a networking and support group within the RICS especially for students, trainees and those newly qualified. The benefits of belonging to matrics vary with each individual but RICS aims to provide the following:

  • Valuable support, particularly for those involved in APC and looking for career development.
  • Networking opportunities to create new business links and industry contacts.
  • Social events to make friends with fellow RICS members.
  • A collective voice to shape the future of the profession.
Name and region Contact details
Emily Knowles MRICS
Birmingham
e EKnowles@vailwilliams.com
Annie Stanford
Marches
e AStanford@savills.com
Nick Curnock
Coventry & Warwickshire
e Nick@godfrey-payton.co.uk
Sarah Small MRICS
North Staffordshire
e sarahsmall@bjbmail.com

Local professional groups

Local professional groups are made of members from specific surveying specialisms designed to offer tailored support and provide a regional voice for their sector of the profession.

Name and region Contact details
Vernon Bardsley MRICS
Building Surveying
e vernon@measuredview.co.uk
Monique Royle MRICS
Valuation
e Monique.Royle@colliers.com

Carl Papavarnava MRICS
Infrastructure

e Carl.Papavarnava@metroalliance.co.uk

Indi Sidhu MRICS
Commercial
e indi.sidhu@knightfrank.com

For further details of how to get involved with RICS local member groups contact hobrien@rics.org or gbrooks@rics.org.