Skip to content

Press release

18 MAY 2018

Celebrating the people shaping the New Zealand built environment

Last night, we celebrated the people, projects and teams that are shaping the built environment at our New Zealand Awards night.

The night, ably hosted by New Zealand personality Kerre McIvor, welcomed close to 200 attendees at the Hilton in Auckland.

There were 13 winners across 12 categories, covering teams and individuals. For the first time this year, the Awards celebrated the profession’s diversity with the inaugural Women of the Built Environment Award.

"The standard of submissions this year was very high, creating quite a challenge for the panel. The entries demonstrated outstanding professionalism, commitment, and a strong client focus. We were also pleased to see unique market expertise, and an eye on sustainability issues. The depth of experience in the industry is world-leading." Peter Harris FRICS, Chair of the judging panel

Team awards

Congratulations to the following winners of the team award categories:
Building Surveying Team of the Year – Babbage Consultants Ltd “The team demonstrated professionalism, commitment and strong client focus, in particular in relation to the sensitive nature of their client, the Department of Corrections.”
Commercial Agency Team of the Year – CBRE “We were impressed with the overall quality of their submission, particularly their focus on collaboration, partnership with the client, and overall outcomes.”
Industrial Team of the Year – Bayleys Real Estate Ltd “They drew on the best skills and experience of each of the team. The use of innovation in marketing and an eye for sustainability were key factors in our decision making.”
Quantity Surveying Team of the Year – Rawlinsons “The success of this company as one of New Zealand’s leading quantity surveying firms was well demonstrated to the judges in their submission.”
Research and Consultancy Team of the Year – CBRE “Launched in 2014, this research and consultancy team demonstrated a significant market presence and client following. Their attention to detail also impressed the judging panel.”
Asset Management Team of the Year – Colliers International New Zealand “The process-driven, innovative approach provided by this submission showed creative thinking that will lead facility managers into the future. The projects identified in their submission and tools used demonstrated leadership in this field of practice.”
Valuation Team of the Year – CBRE “The depth of experience and resource applied to delivery successful client outcomes was clear from this submission. Objectivity, independence and reliability were well demonstrated.”
Facilities Management Team of the Year – Bank of New Zealand “The quality of this submission provided clear evidence of high value facilities management services during the challenging and testing time during and following Canterbury earthquake sequence.”
Tenant Advisory / Representation Team of the Year – CBRE  “Outstanding professionalism and successful delivery of outcomes on complex transactions impressed the judging panel.”

Individual awards

Congratulations to the three individual award winners this year.

Women of the Built Environment

This inaugural award was presented by Professor Robyn Phipps FRICS, Professor in Construction at Massey, and judge for the Cities for our Future competition.

Robyn noted: “The inaugural Women of the Built Environment Award recognises and promotes the positive contribution to our industry. RICS encourages female professionals from all disciplines of the industry to enter including: consultants, property services, real estate and property management professionals, both in the private and public sectors.”

The inaugural prize was awarded to Courtney Doig of Colliers International New Zealand.

Young Achiever of the Year

The Young Achiever of the Year award acknowledges outstanding individuals who, having embarked upon the journey to professionalism through RICS, have achieved excellence in their chosen field.

The individuals selected will embody the highest standards of professionalism, be a role-model for their peers and be capable of making an outstanding contribution to the profession in the course of their future career.

This year, after strong competition, the category was jointly awarded to Anisha Segar of CBRE, and James McCafferty of AECOM.

Anisha’s client testimonials were described as ‘simply outstanding’ by the judges, while James was recognised for ‘having many strings to his bow’ including education and social causes.

Lifetime Achievement Award

The climax of the night was the Lifetime Achievement Award, which recognises eminent commitment to RICS and the wider profession. It is the most prestigious award for built environment professionals.

John Cameron FRICS and Deborah Levy FRICS awarded the prize to Alan McMahon FRICS from Colliers International, for his commitment to the industry and RICS for over 30 years.

 It was a fantastic night for all who attended, truly demonstrating professionalism across the breadth of the built environment industry.