Skip to content

Building Conservation Accreditation

Building Conservation Accreditation

Since 1992, RICS has assessed professionals’ competence in conservation best practice.

The conservation and maintenance of our historic assets represent a major activity for real estate professionals. There are a vast number of challenges, including pollution, environmental change and tourism, for the daily management of historic assets around the world. Therefore, the scale of the task faced by the global conservation sector is significant.

RICS Building Conservation Accreditation provides a rigorous assessment and monitoring programme ensuring individuals affecting the historic environment understand the approach required to manage our historic assets and the impact of their decisions on all stakeholders.

Who is it for?

RICS and related professionals with established experience as custodians of historic assets. This includes those involved in conservation, restoration, sale, purchase, management, protection or recognition of historic buildings, monuments or sites.

Applicants must meet the following criteria to apply:

  • AssocRICS, MRICS, FRICS, any degree or a recognised professional qualification.
  • Sufficient, relevant and responsible practical experience to be able to demonstrate the competencies.
  • Current experience in the historic environment.

What need does the certification serve?

The effective management of historic assets requires factors to be considered beyond those recognised for conventional assets. These factors include the cultural and social value of an asset, its materials and construction, desire for public access and the impact of legislative requirements.

As a result, clients with a vested interest in historic assets seek professionals who can demonstrate an understanding of these factors and possess the knowledge and skills to manage the expectations of multiple stakeholders. These stakeholders include occupiers, owners, investors, government, national heritage bodies, amenity societies and the public.

In the UK, the four home country heritage bodies Historic England, Historic Scotland, Historic Environment Service (CADW – Wales), and Department for Communities Northern Ireland require suitably qualified professionals to be appointed to lead grant-funded work on historic assets. The RICS accreditation is recognised for these purposes.

Why become RICS Accredited in Building Conservation?

There are personal and commercial benefits of being an accredited professional including:

  • Professional status – Market yourself with use of an exclusive logo.
  • Access to work – Many funding bodies and owners of heritage assets prescribe or expect professionals to have accreditation.
  • Recognition – Clients and employers can be assured of your standards, maintained by a regulatory system of quality assurance.
  • Promotion – Your details are listed on the RICS website.
  • Support and networking – You have access as an accredited member to the Building Conservation Forum.

How to apply


There are two stages on the route to accreditation: application and interview.


Applicant guide

Application form

You must provide:

  • Professional details
  • Summary of experience (500 words)
  • CPD summaries (50 words each)
  • 5 x case studies (500-750 words each)

Submit your application and supporting documents


A 60-minute interview by 2-3 assessors including:

  • A 10-minute presentation by you
  • Questions from the panel


There are three assessment sessions available each year. The application deadlines are:

  • Last working day in March.
  • Last working day in July.
  • Last working day in November.

Interviews are scheduled approximately two months after each deadline.

If you are interested in applying but are unsure if you are eligible or will be able to meet the next session deadlines, please contact us.

Accreditation obligations

As an accredited professional you are subject to the following obligations:

  • Ongoing monitoring by RICS Regulation
  • Completion and recording of appropriate CPD
  • Reaccreditation by written submission every five years